Skip to Content

Do You Need to Report Your Car Accident to the DMV/MVC?

Writing Notes

Even if a police report is filed at the scene of the accident, it is advised and required that you report your accident to the DMV for the following circumstances. In New York State, you must report an accident to the DMV if the accident results in an injury, death, or property damage in excess of $1,000.[1] The report must be filed within 10 days of the accident. In New York, if you fail to adhere to the DMV’s accident reporting rules, you can face the suspension of your license.[2]

In New Jersey, one must report an accident to the DMV if the accident results in an injury, death, or property damage more than $500.[3] The report must be filed within 10 days of the accident. In New Jersey, if you fail to report the accident to the MVC you can face a fine of no less than $30 but no more than $100 and may also face the suspension of your license.[4] We advise you report your accident to the your local DMV or MVC as soon as possible, and well within the 10 day period.

The forms needed to report an accident can be found on both states’ respective DMV and MVC websites. In these forms you must detail the accident and the events that occurred leading up to it.

[1] N.Y. Veh. & Traf. Law § 605 (McKinney)

[2] N.Y. Veh. & Traf. Law § 605 (McKinney)

[3] N.J.S.A. 39:4-130

[4] N.J.S.A. 39:4-130



This information is the most up to date news available as of the date posted. Please be advised that any information posted on the KI Legal Blog or Social Channels is being supplied for informational purposes only and is subject to change at any time. For more information, and clarity surrounding your individual organization or current situation, contact a member of the KI Legal team

KI Legal Personal Injury fights for victims of a wide array of personal injury claims, from Motor Vehicle Accidents to Scaffolding and Ladder Falls to Slip/Trip & Falls, amongst others. By leveraging its multidisciplinary foundation and, with the help of its experienced litigators, KI Legal Personal Injury can fight for the results and compensation that victims deserve without pushing for premature settlements due to financial reasons. This financial paradigm shift swings the pendulum in our favor when it comes to negotiating with insurance carriers, inherently leading to better results for clients. For the latest updates.

Share To: